Scuba Noob!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Zosimus

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hello everyone!
So I’m new to scuba, in fact I haven’t even completed my OW certification yet. I completed the classroom and confined water dives this past weekend, my open water dives are this coming weekend. I’m very excited to say the least. When I pass a mud puddle I have this strange urge to put on my mask and stick my face in it (just kidding, but you get where I’m coming from).

Even though I have a buddy that has been on me for years to get my OW (he currently has his Rescue), I thought it would be fun to meet new friends /dive buddies in the area. I would love to find more buddies in north Texas that like to dive often, which would be blast and great for me to further my knowledge from some of you vets out there.

My instructor is Mark Metcalf at SI Scuba in Arlington, Texas. Mark is an excellent instructor. He and his wife make the class extremely fun and love sharing stories and tidbits of information. Like I said, the open water portion of my OW certification is this weekend, and I have already signed up for Advanced. I’m sure I will be looking at some specialties and Rescue after that.