Red and White Vs Blue and White...????

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

SURFFOILS

Registered
Reaction score
hi guys, as a newbie I read a lot on the 8nternet and it’s confusing that in the US the DD flag is Red and White but in other countries it’s Blue and White and a different configuration.
What gives ?
Apart from the boater confusion it’s a potentially deadly situation and IM not keen on getting run over by a 60 ft cruiser because the rules are different in different countries.
As a newbie, safety is my greatest concern.
what’s going on ?

The alpha flag (the blue and white one) is an international marine flag indicating that the vessel has a diver in the water. It's primary purpose is to protect the vessel from a collision and/or to warn approaching vessels of such a danger.

Since not all divers dive from a vessel the red and white flag was invented (I believe) as a flag specific to scuba diving and isn't vessel centric. The red and white flag, for example, can be towed by divers in the water on a surface marker buoy.

In reality, you see both of them in a lot of places. Boaters in North America will recognize both flags. In some countries you'll be better off using one or the other. The best advice is to inform locally when you're diving somewhere new.

R..