Recommendations: June-July diving/snorkelling

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Dovvie

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Dear divers,

Could you please recommend some dive and snorkel/freedive sites in Thailand in June-July?
I'm a novice diver (OW) and we just want to do some relaxed dives with nice sea life.
I do realize this is not the best period to dive in Thailand.
We'll certainly be going to koh tao, but other than that?

Kind regards,
Dovvie

Hi Dovvie. If you're already planning to go to Koh Tao, snorkeling near there and perhaps at Ang Thong National Marine Park nearby, but want to go to another place in addition, I would suggest coming to Phuket, staying here or perhaps on Racha Island. At that time of year the wind will be blowing out of the west, and Racha Island has many nice bays perfect for snorkeling on its eastern side, protected from the wind-blown waves. You can visit these bays on boats from Phuket or of course from Racha itself.

Thank you for replying.
We looked into going to Phuket, but Koh Lanta and Krabi seem more interesting. Is it possible to dive near there during june/july?