Puget sound diving conditions forecasts

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dtabas

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm new to diving (recently completed open water, drysuit, and nitrox cert) and like to "do my homework" before most outdoor adventures. I'm looking for reliable sources for ocean currents, tides, and wave heights around the Puget sound. Magic Seaweed only has forecasts for two locations in the sound and Edmonds Underwater Park isn't one of them. Ocean currents have been even harder to find online. Does anyone have recommendations on which websites to use to check forecasts for diving conditions? P.S. what other factors do you consider when planning a dive? TIA

Honestly, I just google it and take whatever comes up. There are only a few actual measured tide stations, and everything is inferred from those. NOAA produces the base data and the interpretations and other sites publish it. Some places will also have current predictions, but usually you just have to infer current from tide.

Tide Predictions - NOAA Tides & Currents is the NOAA tide site for Edmonds

Some parts of this may be useful:

People like Fritz Merkel (@fmerkel) and Eric Askilsrud (on FB, not SB AFAIK) are the two top people knowledgeable for making adjustments from measurement stations. If they don't know, then likely no other divers do.