Poll: Where were you (first) introduced to the frog kick (mastery not required)?

Poll: Where were you (first) introduced to the frog kick (mastery not required)?

• Basic Open Water

Votes: 23 15.1%
  • Advanced Open Water

Votes: 12 7.9%
  • Rescue Diver

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Master Diver

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Cavern/Intro to Cave/Intro to Tech

Votes: 8 5.3%
  • GUE (any course)

• private instruction/mentoring (paid or otherwise)

Votes: 10 6.6%
  • self taught/YouTube

Votes: 45 29.6%
  • other

Votes: 38 25.0%
  • The what?! I don't know that...

• Total voters

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Crush

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
In a few current threads I have noticed experienced divers complaining about apparently poorly-trained divers silting up an open water dive sites with non-non-silting kicks (is that a good term?) and disturbing coral and other marine life as a result of poor buoyancy control. Is such criticism fair if the diver was never taught non-silting kicks and/or was awarded their dive certification with only modest or even poor buoyancy control? Here I assuming that the problem is with training, not with gear selection.

In order to simplify this poll I will ask only one question - where were you (first) introduced to the frog kick - and assume that if you were introduced to the frog kick (note: introduced to, not mastered) then you were also introduced to paddle kicks, helicopter turns, back kicks, horizontal trim and good buoyancy control.