Please help me, for the sake of the children....

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jiveturkey

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I just posted a picture in the "Looking Up" thread. When I look at my photo compared to the others, it just doesn't have the same feel at all. I'm using C4000, no strobe with automatic settings. I'm still learning how to use those. I've got my camera set on medium resolution.

Is there really that much of a difference between the picture quality with a c4000 vs the c5050? It can't be my skill in this situation. It HAS to be the camera right?

Could it have something to do with my resolution setting? Everyone always says use the hightest one. But my highest setting (Tiff) gives me only 14 shots on a 128mb card. Should I use the SHQ setting? I don't think it'll make a difference in this situation. Maybe for cropping I guess.

In this particular series, yours is one of three where there's enough water between you and the subject to fog the image due to visibility and scatter. Look at the sea lions and the kelp shots too, and you'll see the same "fog."
You can get excellent quality out of the 4000. Keep at it.
Rick

Please include it in your message ot at least provide a link.
:snorkel:ScubaRon

SHQ will work just fine. Your photo is also pixelated which distracts from it.

I think most of your 'haze' is just water quality. Look at some of the others with excellent visibility, the distance doesn't seem to matter.