PADI tables vs TDI/USN tables vs Dive Computer

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

vinsanity

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
My background is PADI, but I recently took the TDI Nitrox class and in the process noticed that the PADI tables and TDI/Navy tables are pretty different and wanted to understand why. I searched the forum and found some very interesting old discussions summarized as roughly:
  • Navy Tables were designed for Navy work, which is typically 1 dive to do as much of a job as time permits, and then come up for the rest of the day. So the tables reflect a maximum first dive followed by very long surface intervals for repeat dives. There is probably also some limit pushing because everyone is fit and there is a medic on the boat.
  • PADI wanted to support for multi-recreation dive charter boat trip, so they made their own tables with tweaks to reduce surface intervals, which also included reduced the NDL. With multiple dives, you'll recoup the lost NDL time from the first dive in the form of sooner or longer repeat dives.
Assuming my understanding is at least roughly correct for a very complicated topic. What can I expect my dive computer's position on this to be? I currently dive with an AquaLung computer, but am starting down the tech diving path, so I plan to upgrade to a Shearwater Perdix AI shortly.

You'll be much closer to the PADI tables than to the Navy tables.