PADI Self Reliant vs SDI Solo

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Standards wise I don't have the PADI ones for that course here. I am an SDI Solo Instructor. This is one of those courses that really depends on the instructor and to a degree, in my opinion, where you are taking it. The SDI standards allow for and actually require the instructor to take into consideration local conditions for one thing. In my area that means things like low vis, cold water, etc. come into play and knowledge and skills are adjusted and added to reflect that. In the course I offer for instance there are some drysuit specific skills and knowledge for those taking it in a drysuit. Those items perhaps would not be seen if you took it in the Caribbean.

While two dives are required I have students do three. Perhaps four if I think they need it. This is how I was taught in the course when I took it as a diver. The instructor I had added skills to suit our local conditions. We had to shoot a bag with a blacked out or no mask and ascend using that. We did extensive dive planning and gas management. He added material in the classroom that he felt was beneficial.

The standards also require an additional independent regulator attached to an air source. Pony bottle, doubles with a manifold, H valve, independent doubles, or a Spare Air is how it reads.

There is also a swimming skill of 600 yds in full scuba gear non stop performed in open water.