On tight budget need cheap but reliable watch/computer recomendations

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

TheWetArchaeologist

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hey, I'm pretty new to Scuba but hopefully I'll be doing it for the rest of my life, and while I'd like to get some top of the line equipment I am on a pretty tight budget. I would like to get a good, simple, cheap, reliable dive watch to use on my dives until I can afford a good dive computer. Can I get the names of manufactures to check out that make reliable watches at a good price? I'd also like to know about anywhere I could get a dive computer at a bargain. Thanks in advanced.

Sorry your post is a little confusing to me, are you looking for a watch, a watch style computer or a computer?

ill assume watch as this was mentioned in the body of your post.

If so any watch rated 200meters is suitable for scuba. Casio G shocks can be had cheap and would do the trick. Citizen and seiko make some cheaper model 200m watches also. Not sure of model availability or prices in the US. I imagine you could find something cheap online.

All of that being said you could probably pick up a second hand Suunto Zoop or Gekko for a similar amount of money. Computers have come down in price quite a lot in recent years.

Have a wee look around you might be surprised. Have a Look at the classifieds on this board.

You could also try contacting Beaverdivers he's a member of this board and often has good deals on ScubaPro and/Sub-Gear.