Oh boy, I'm hooked.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

PilotGimbal

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
Hey everyone, I'm a total noob to scuba but figured I'd go ahead and register and start digesting all the information I can. I was exposed to diving last week at advanced space academy. We had about a two hour block which included the initial donning of equipment and training. I was a bit scared, but mostly just very excited. My team had six people diving, and there were three instructors so we partnered up and learned the basics: just going under and breathing, clearing a partially filled mask, then taking our masks off completely, replacing them and clearing them, two ways of retrieving a lost regulator, signalling that we were out of air then using the instructor's 2nd regulator, and hand signals. The hardest part for me was reminding myself that I could actually still breathe even with my mask off. That took me a few seconds, and it was still intimidating while I tried to put my mask back on and clear it. But I did it! Anyway...we learned the basics then got to start our descent. I was afraid my ears or sinuses would hurt, but relieved to find that equalizing my ears wasn't hard at all. We would go down two steps on the ladder, then stop to equalize, then continue. The tank was 27 feet deep but it didn't take long to get down.