Newbie needs lightweight and compact BCD recommendation. Maybe even a hybrid?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

fuzzybabybunny

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I'm a newbie to sidemount. A year ago I dove 20-some times with an AL80 slung on my side cobbled together with hardware store stuff and attached to a standard backmount BCD with another AL80.

I do mostly solo dives and I really enjoyed having the extra tank mounted against my side, so I figure that if I'm going to be doing dives with two tanks, I might as well have both be properly sidemounted.

I travel a lot and my current kit is an older Zeagle Express Tech Deluxe with 19kg bladder that only weighs around 2.4 kg and packs down really small and flat.

I read a thread here where people try to convert the Express Tech (and similar backmount systems) to sidemount with bad results, so I think that I'm unfortunately going to have to sell my Express Tech and just go all-in with sidemount, especially with my solo dives.

- The XDeep Stealth 2.0 Tec with 19kg bladder is 2.8kg, so a bit heavier than my Express Tech.

- The XDeep Stealth 2.0 Classic with 16kg bladder is 2.4kg, the same as my Express Tech.

- Are there any other BCDs that I should be looking at, and what are peoples' opinions on the XDeep stuff? I've never heard of them until I started looking into sidemount.