NEWBIE... GEAR RECOMMENDATIONS ?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Diving Deek

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi.. I'm a newb. Just got Open Water Certified.
I have no clue as to what essential gear I need with all the different models of BC, Regulators, etc.
My "local" dive shop is an hour away (the closest) and is basically shut down due to Covid.
I don't mind buying used gear if I knew what to look for. In fact, I'd prefer modern, but used equipment to save some $$.
I'll mostly be diving midwestern quarries, with an annual trip to FL or somewhere south.
Feel free to PM w/ suggestions.

Thanks Folks.

....and the URL didn't post...

First thing is your own mask . And you should think about a computer before BC and regs. If you are a pretty easy fit (I'm not and a lot of dive shops don't have BCs small enough) then don't worry about a BC too soon.

I would prioritize like this
- mask/fins
- computer
- regs (mostly due to covid otherwise I would be fine to rent and would put wetsuit here)
- wetsuit
- bcd

I would put the wetsuit higher on the list.
I dont want to dive in the pee of others..

But yes, bcd should be the last.

Do you dive in cold or warm water?

Yup, me too. Again, the only reason I put regs higher was covid and some are concerned about rental regs.

Incidentally, urine is sterile :wink:

I’m assuming that you bought all your basic gear during OW? Mask, fins? Some shops will also include snorkel, wetsuit in that package.