New to the sport at 51

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

timaucoin

New
Reaction score
# of dives
Hello from Calgary, Alberta Canada!
I am very new to diving. I've snorkelled hundreds of times and last year while in Akumal, Mexico, I decided to do a discover scuba course. Well, two dives later I was hooked!!! Came home determined to get certified. Winter came and it was a long one and time flew by fast... I still hadn't taken the course. Well, I did finally sign up in April and did my closed water skills this past weekend and did extremely well!! :D I am hooked even more now. I am booked to do my open water portion on June 10 & 11 in a local lake here (and a cold one apparently... but I am up for the challenge!). We have a trip planned in July with friends (one of whom is certified), and he is itching to get me diving a lot over this holiday to get me some experience. I have no idea where this new found love will take me, but I am just letting it happen and will go wherever my heart leads me in this sport. It is the most freeing and amazing thing I have ever done in my life!!!

I am definitely going to invest in my own gear... likely basic stuff to start with until I see where it leads me. I am looking at the Axiom i3 for my BCD and for regs, from what I've read, the Titan LX regs and Titan LX octo are a good starting point. I already have my computer, mask, snorkel, fins and wet suit!! Hoping to learn lots on this board and would love to hear from other new and experienced members with any advice!! :)