New to diving and need help

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Emma Carl

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi All,

I need some advice please? I am new to diving (and forums), and have just done week three of my OW confined sessions with the OW one at the end of this month. Not only that but I am relatively new to swimming, and despite having done outdoor swimming in cold water, I still panic in water. I hate water in my face when I swim and panic if it goes up my nose..... so why dive? It was a gift from someone who know I like to push myself and after the initial panic of the first session, I am enjoying being under the water. (Still not happy with water when swimming). Due to a dodgy mask I bought, I can clear a partial mask but when trying to clear a fully flooded mask I inhale through my nose and choke. I am struggling with this and the thought of having to remove my mask sends waves of fear through me. I can't be the only one that has had this issue. Please can I have some advice on how to get over this. I have got a 1:2:1 session booked in very soon but I want to make the most of this and use the time to 'catch up' with the rest so I can enjoy the OW sessions rather than panic. I know I am being shown the 'worse case' skills so I need to get past this fear to get to the fun bit. I know I want to carry on hen I can trick my mind to accept I can do this. Any help and suggestions would be very welcome

Thanks