New SB member

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

swaldows

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
My name is Shawn and I'm new to ScubaBoard, diving and Hawaii. In May 2022, I completed OW eLearning and pool sessions in San Rafael, California simply because I wanted to get a hookah tank filled to clean the bottom of my sailboat. I originally planned the 4 cert dives in Monterey, CA but because I sailed my sailboat to Hawaii in June I didn't complete the cert dives. Once I arrived in Hawaii, I decided to complete the cert dives before sailing back to California. As I slipped below the surface on OW dive #1, I couldn't believe my eyes. The warm ocean water, great visibility and all the aquatic life took me by surprise. When I finished OW dive #4, someone on the dive boat said something about a wreck dive and I knew that was the first thing I wanted to do. My instructor quickly jumped in and explained I need AOW cert because the wreck sat at 124'. Enough said. That night, I completed the AOW eLearning session and a few days later I was down at the Sea Tiger. Descending down 100' to the bow of this massive ship was one of the most exciting things I'd ever done and it changed my life! I decided to stay in Hawaii for a year and dive as much as possible. Most of my dives have been off of Oahu and Kauai but I've also been lucky enough to dive Molokini and the Kona coast. I've also completed the RD class. Now, I'm setting my sights on Niihau and Mauna Crack and just finished Nitrox Diver class last week. I hope to lear