New Mexico Divers

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

BlairJ007

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
Hey guys,

I am new to scuba diving and I am looking for a good (recommended) place to get certified in Albuquerque or Rio Rancho. Also I am just looking to make some friends that live in the area that love to dive.

I understand that our local dive is the Blue Hole out in Santa Rosa. What does everyone think of this?

Anyone made any trips out to Puerto Penasco or two the two diving spots near Dallas, TX (Athens, Clear Springs)?

Anyways, hello to all the NM divers!

Blair

I know many of the front range colorado dive shops all use the Blue Hole for their OW dives, especially in the non summer months. The plus of the cold springs of the Blue Hole is that it refreshes itself often enough that you will have better visiblity than your other options. That said, the water is a consistent temp in the lower 60s.

there are 3 dive shops in Albuquerque and they all do certifications.
Scuba Company is PADI
Sandia Snorkel is PADI
NM Scuba Center is SSI

there are several independent instructors also.

My husband is an instructor at the Scuba Co. ABQdiver (Kevin) is an instructor with NM Scuba Center. You can't get better than either of these two guys, IMHO.

Blue Hole in Santa Rosa is a great place to do certification dives. Check out my videos to see what it is like.
[vimeo]5829074[/vimeo]

all my videos at Blue Hole: http://www.vimeo.com/album/20416
robin:D