New Film Camera

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

fast5frog

Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hey guys, I just got a MX-5II Sea & Sea film camera for Christmas. I know Digital is the way to go but money was also an issue...soo, does anyone have any feedback on this camera. I am new to UW photography so I guess it is an OK place to start as well. Any tips would be very helpful. Thanks alot -Ron

Have your Buoyancy spot on before you bother with the camera. The MX 5 is a good starting camera.

Hey, Fast5Frog,

Welcome to the world of uw photography. Many, many of us got started with gear just like yours. It will work just fine.

I suggest you find one of the classic books by the Churches (even ones on Nikonos cameras) and/or by Norbert Wu and absorb what they write. I think you will find one piece of advice that will stand you in good stead: get close--then closer.

Probably the most difficult issue facing a new uw photographer is depth of focus, i.e,. avoiding out of focus photos. One way that will help is to use a film with a high iso number. Iso 400 is readily available. There are some issues with using high iso films, but they are of minimum concern to most photographers.

I hope this helps.

joewr