Need strobe advice for 5050

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scubaguy655

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi everyone.....I have a 5050/PT-015 (purchased ~6 months ago) and need strobe advice.

I have read comparisons/specifications until I am going blind! The problem is that I am trying to work within a budget....sigh...I would love to get one of the Inon strobes but it is a bit pricey right now.

I have an old Reefmaster SL960 (I know.....but it is all I have right now).
I have been looking at strobes that are available for $500.00 or less for the total package.....strobe head, tray, arm, and optical cable if applicable. As I am sure you know, there are very few options in this price range.

I have looked at the Sea & Sea YS-25DX and Ikelite DS-50...as well as a few other names that are too embarrasing to mention!

My question is that versus my really cheap SL960, will I notice a big difference with either of the two (YS25-DX, Ikelite DS-50) above?.....or does anyone have any suggestions that are within my budget....or even slightly above?

I am headed to Little Cayman the first week of June and would like to have a halfway decent set-up so I will only be able to blame myself for the poor photo quality :)

Thanks for any assistance!

Maybe others will have better ideas but if I was already going to spend $500 on a strobe then I would probably add the little extra needed to get the Inon D-2000 from Yuzo. You can look at these on his page here: