Need dSLR lens tutorial

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

GoBlue!

Contributor
Reaction score
OK, I'm totally buying into the statement that as I shop for a first dSLR, I'm really shopping for a family of lenses that will be with me for eternity.

First, need #1 for my dSLR is going to be shooting topside pics, mainly child/portraits, at first. Need #2 will come down the road, and that will be u/w pics.

Now, I'm a newbie when it comes to understanding the ins & outs of SLR lenses. I understand the 1.5/1.6x magnification issue when taking a film lens & placing it on a digital camera due to the smaller imager. I understand that low focal lengths (below 50mm film equiv) are wide-angle & higher are telephoto. I understand f-stops when it comes to depth of field issues, and realize that they relate in some way to focal length (getting on shaky ground here).

A few things I'm wondering:
(1) What are advantages to the fixed-focal length lenses compared to zoom lenses?
(2) Is there a glossary anywhere of all the abbreviations that are strung together in many of the lens "names"? (ED, IF, AF-S, letters immediately after f-stops, etc.)? Very confusing.
(3) Without starting an all-out war, as I realize that Canon & Nikon both make excellent high-end lenses, is there anything I should be considering between these two when making an initial purchase?
(4) Could someone please explain "fast lens" and "slow lens" and how they relate to other parameters?

Thanks. I appreciate your patience in advance!

Jim