nautilus lifeline VHF, nautilus GPS, PLB, what to get

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

littlegorgor

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
hi everyone,
I'm a newbie to scuba diving and want to get one of the above. which would be the best choice ?

I think my dive shop still carries the old version of nautilus with VHF. Is it difficult to use? need registration? I'm from hong Kong, anything I need to consider ?

As for plb, what are the options? anyone of them comes with a dive canister?

simplest option seems like the new version of nautilus gps. is it a waste of money?

They are all good, but what you *need* depends on the kind of diving you'll be doing, and where.

Having a VHF radio as an option seems immensely useful IMHO. A lot of issues could be avoided with a simple call to your boat (assuming they are on the same channel and of course actually listening). Not sure why they discontinued that function.

VHF model rocks. It's super handy for those times when it's not an emergency but you wanna talk to the boat.

For what it's worth, there's plenty of handheld marine VHF radios out there without the Nautilus wallet raping. Just put it in a dive canister.

Personally, I carry a PLB. If I can't be found, boat sunk, Capt. had a heart attack, or whatever the case, I want the ability to call the cavalry.

Last edited:
hi everyone,
I'm a newbie to scuba diving and want to get one of the above. which would be the best choice ?