Medical Issues of Diving at Altitude

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

cougar

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I am an EMS instructor. I have been teaching about the body's response to high altitude vis a vis climbing. In Colorado there are several dive sites well above 5,000 feet. One in particular is at 9,000 ft with a depth of 68 ft. Assuming the diver lives at sea level and does things stupidly. What happens physiologically when he stay down too long, blows his safety stop and pops up like a bubble at 9,000 ft? Because there is less air pressure at 9,000 feet...is 68 ft less than 68 feet? What happens to the rules as I know them and what happens to the human body?
Thanks in advance for any input you may offer.

The short answer:
From a DCS perspective, essentially the same thing happens at altitude as at sea level, just more extreme.
Because of lower atmospheric pressure, ratios between ambient at a certain depth and at the surface are greater.
i.e. 68 feet is “more than” 68 feet.

For a diver who lives at sea level, there is also the issue of acclimating to elevation. Arriving at elevation is similar to having just surfaced from a very long shallow dive.

One of many articles available:
Diving At Altitude

Cougar,

The U.S. Navy Diving Manual has a pretty good explanation of it. It's available for download here. See Chapter 9, starting on page 9-46.

Best regards,
DDM