Managed Depression, Alchoholism in Recovery

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

brizzolatti

Contributor
Reaction score
Hi, guys. I am a newbie, in fact a pre newbie because I haven't even learned to dive yet. However, I have always had a hankering. I am a strong swimmer and enjoy being under. I live in a cold climate but will be visiting Mauritius in a while and thought this would be the ideal place to dive. I thought I would learn before I travel and have done a bit of research. However, in my readings, I see that depression and alcoholism might mean I would be barred from learning. I am on SSRI antidepressants which control my depression - so it is managed and I lead a normal life in the sense I have no symptoms. I am an alcholic but in recovery (ie I do not drink).

From your experiences, would PADI dive schools etc reject me as a candidate if I declared these issues?

Thanks for your insights.

Hello,

First welcome!

I called DAN on this issue in the past. What I was advised was to NOT dive while on SSRI's. The reason was no due to medication but due to the underlying health issues like suicidal and the like. What the scuba shops (being the medical clueless wonders that they are) will probably do is ask you to get clearance thru your regular doctor and thru DAN. Which is never a bad idea for any condition.