Lost weight, small issue but might be dangerous

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

h90

Contributor
Reaction score
I have a Beuchat Masterlift Evo BCD with integrated weight system.
Usually I dive with left 1 kg, right 1 kg and a weight belt with 2 kg (Thailand tropic, shorty, Aluminium tank)
On my last dive, I checked the integrated weight system (if it is closed, not loose) before going in the water. Before I never checked it, but I got the idea to include it in my check.

I dive with almost-to complete empty bcd. After arround 30 min I got out of buoyancy, but could compensate it by breathing with a near empty lung and with the fins. I lost the left bag from the weight system.
Checked before, I didn't come in thouch with anything or anyone, complete unclear how this might happen.
I could compensate the 1 kg and luckily I found the missing bag.

But think what would happen if it is not tropic, if it is in a cold climate with a lot protection against cold water and everything in the integrated. If you loose 3 kg or 4 kg with some air in the bcd or drysuit and without experience at say 35 meter, you go up 10 meter and than with the expanded air you go up like a cork having a bad accident.

Just I didn't have learned the lesson because what can I do else than checking the integrated???

Get the integrated weights under control - if you can't trust them, time to consider something else.