Looking for cenote recommendation for beginner

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DeltaWardog

ScubaBoard Supporter
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi all. I'm getting ready to go to Coz for the 4th time and I want to try something new this time, something I've heard amazing things about for years. I want to do a cenote dive.

I'm a pretty good amateur diver with 50+ dives under my belt, and I have great buoyancy control. I have no cave diving training or experience whatsoever, but I have heard there are some cenotes that have open air above the caves and so don't require cave penetration type training.

Can anyone recommend a couple of good sites, and maybe a few details on what the whole experience is like taking a day to go over and dive the mainland from Cozumel?

Kindof a side question - is it even worth it for someone of my experience level, or do I need to have cave training to really get to the good stuff? Would my time be better spent in Columbia Shallows? :)

Thanks in advance for anything you care to share!