Looking for Advice on Strobes!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Talisman

Registered
Reaction score
Hi there im hope you guys n girls can help me out a bit.

I recently bought a Oly C5050 zoom and PT015 UW housing (got a good deal really). Now i have seen comments that this will work quite well UW without a strobe, but i dont really believe it will take quality pics without.

So the question is Strobes. Im no dive expert, been diving 3 years, hooked on it completely, now a Rescue Diver.

Ive used a couple of crappy UW cameras that make good paperweights!. But i want to get some good pics. Also im not a millionaire and alot of strobes are Priceyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!! to say the least. But i also dont want to get anything that is rubbish and would rather save up for a good one. One of my fav dives in Cyprus is the Zenobia wreck and i want to be able to take some cracking pics next year when i go over in June (getting married there, but im there for the diving :wink: )

So you know what i have, what else do i need? And what is good and bad.

I dont want rubbish stuff. But im hoping not to sell some body parts to pay for it.

Thanks

Rob. UK

Hi Rob

Well firstly, how much is too much? I.e. could you cope with just losing the one kidney? :D

Seriously though, I've just finished sorting my rig out, and NONE of it was bought in the UK - far to expensive!!!

I'm a big Ikelite fan, so I'm a bit biased here, but looking at the ikelite range only 2 strobes fit the bill:-