Looking for advice for tech regs to buy

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

JCope3

Registered
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I've browsed the forum and have spent most of the day doing research (and I've done plenty in the past months too) and I'm still fairly undecided on what to do, so I'm turning to you all for advice...

I'm a divemaster looking to make the jump to instructor and move to a more full-time situation pretty soon (I'm a teacher/administrator so I'm kind of constricted to the school year schedule... can't just up and leave any time). I also know that I want to get into tech diving in the next year or two and eventually become a tech instructor.

I'm looking to complete my kit - the regulators are the last things to buy. I've been holding off on them due to indecision, the money factor, and the fact that I've got one to use for now at the diving school where I train/practice/volunteer.

I would like to buy a reg set that is versatile and can be used for pretty much anything that I would do in the next years... cold water/ice diving and deep diving are what I'm most concerned with because that's essentially what I do 90% of the time I dive. I would also prefer something that I could service myself, but that's not a firm requirement. I'm not really interested in sidemount yet, but the ability to be used in that way in the future would be nice for whenever I go that direction.