Long term effects of Type II DCI

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

madmarty

New
Reaction score
I am an Orthopedic surgeon and have some questions I hope you can help with.

I have a patient who was a military hard hat diver for 8 years. In about 1978 he sustained a "Type II hit" according to the Navy Medical Diving Officer who treated him on the submarine tender at the time.

The event occurred during the 3rd chamber dive of the day to 112'. He was the inside tender for pressure and O2 tolerance testing. Because of symptoms at the end of the 3rd dive he recompressed to 165' by the DM at which time he had resolution of his symptoms. It was decided, however, to send him for medical treatment so he was surfaced from 165' and taken to the local military hospital where the orthopedic surgeon was unclear as to what was going on, and arranged for transport to the submarine tender where a Navy Medical Diving Officer and a chamber were available. It took approx 4 hours to get to the chamber from the time he surfaced.

His symptoms again resolved with recompression. Following this episode he continued to dive for about a year however had symptoms of low back and neck pain, neuritis and tendinitis in several areas which were the ones that were symptomatic during the DCI. He was taken off of dive status due to these.

The patient continues to have symptoms in the same areas that were affected during this incident and they are gradually worsening as he ages.