LED light recommendations for GoPro 8?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Mr. Dooley

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I've got the pictured tray for my GoPro 8. I want to start filming night dives and am curious if there are any recommendations for decent LED (or other format) lights to mount on this type of rig. Something dimmable would be nice I suppose. Beyond that I'm not too concerned with bells and whistles as I'm fairly new to this.

I see there are several types of diving lights on Amazon for quite cheap but I don't know anything about those manufacturers (Movo, Suptig, etc.). Hoping to have something I can take to 100 + feet if possible.

1642891044561.png

I'm no expert on this so this could be the blind leading the blind but I'll share thoughts anyway. I just got my gopro as well and haven't tried it out as of yet. But I understand the chief thing you want to think about with lights for video is a wide dispersal, not the typical narrow 6 or 8 degree cone of a flashlight. Maybe I'm a cheapskate but some of the dive lights (e.g. sealife) that are selling for $500+ just don't seem like a great deal; can't figure out why they cost so much.

I'm looking right now at two lights that are more reasonably priced. not sure how they will perform in comparison.

OrcaTorch D530V - 140 degrees, 1200 lumens, $109
TrustFire DF50 - 150 degrees, max 6500 lumens, $144, and also has what look like interesting red and UV light modes.