Input on Raja Ampat

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Allison Finch

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
:D

I am booked on the Odyssea (new boat built in April of this year) and will spending time in Raja Ampat. This is my first time in that area. I know this is a large area, but what type of diving can I expect? What areas should I make a point of diving?

Any info is appreciated.

Hi Allison. In your note you didn't say where the new boat was departing from. We dived Raja Ampat on the Temu Kira out of Sorong. I wrote a trip report but when the board it was hosted on blew up, the report was slightly messed up. The link is here: There's a few odd characters in it but it's readable. There's lots of pictures.

http://dive.scubadiving.com/members/tripreports.php?s=2843

Have fun. You should have a great trip. A friend of mine is diving from that same boat this December. His name is Ken and he's the owner of Ultimate Dive Travel. He's going down to check out the boat before he books clients on it. You may want to give him a shout in January or check his site for info on the boat when he gets back.

Sandra

Allison Finch:
:D

I am booked on the Odyssea (new boat built in April of this year) and will spending time in Raja Ampat. This is my first time in that area. I know this is a large area, but what type of diving can I expect? What areas should I make a point of diving?

Any info is appreciated.