Improvised Insulation

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
Hey I'm brand new to SCUBA and am two dives away for earning my PADI Open Water. I own an underarmor cold-gear top and bottom and was wondering if that could work as insulation under my 6.5mm wet suit. Are their any do's or dont's to using extra layers to stay warm?

Thanks for the advice!

I personally don't think it is a great idea with a wetsuit. Normally you want a snug wetsuit which traps a layer of water next to your skin that warms up. The wetsuit provides the insulation between the thin layer of water and the water you are diving in. Not sure what underarmor cold gear is and how well it insulates wet but you may be allowing extra cold water to get underneath your wetsuit. Plus it may be a bit of a strugggle to put a wetsuit on over that underwear.

I've heard of a few people wearing dive skins under their wet suits but mainly to ease in and out of them. 6.5mm will do a good enough job for you if you wear it within the temperatures they are designed for.

Hey Scott:

Both James Croft and DM95 had good scoop! I am pretty sure that Underarmor wicks moisture away when wearing another layer to aide in thermal comfort (and to get rid of potential stink).