Important features when choosing a rebreather

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

LFMarm

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I am new to rebreathers and I am trying to figure out which features to have so that I can shortlist models that would be suited for me. From my research, I landed on 3 features that not all units have that would make diving easier and safer
  • ADV – Auto Diluent Valve (with or without a Flowstop isolator) — to automatically inflate counterlung when going deeper
  • Scrubber Life Monitor — the scrubber is the bottleneck for dive duration and hence great to monitor it
  • CO2 Sensor — Important for safety
Anybody would agree with these 3 being important features? Which models would fit the bill?

CO2 sensors are supposed to be unreliable and unnecessary; by the time they trigger it's too late.

You could also add a CMF - constant mass flow - or leaky valve. This gets into the manual vs. full automatic debate.

All of this is highly personal and gets into Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance.

I don’t believe there is a usable CO2 sensor for rebreathers made by anyone. It’s a hard problem.

My decision to go for a Revo was based upon:
  • Multiple scrubbers
    • CO2 hits would be way more unlikely
    • Cheaper to run as only one scrubber's replaced with normal diving
  • Fully redundant electronics
    • Two completely separate systems for monitoring PPO2
    • Separate sets of cells -- very happy with 3 cells on the controller and 2 cells on the backup
  • Nerd + Petrel