I need your ideas and opinions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Kestrell

Reaction score
Okay, here goes; I’m sure this isn’t the most original way to start my first post, but I’m doing it anyway.

Hi, I’m new to scuba (actually I was certified a long time ago, but never did anything with it.) and I wanted some help with selecting my gear.

I know the basic stuff about getting a mask for fit etc. and plan to get a cheap snorkel since I will probably be leaving it behind on most dives.

Any way, I have been doing a little research (not by reading dive magazines) and here is the gear I have selected so far.

Reg./Octo. – Atomic M1
BCD – Zeagle Ranger
Dive Comp. Suunto Vytec

I will probably go with an Aeris mask that fit me well, but I’m not sure yet.

Fins are the next item on my list to look at, and I want to go with a paddle fin as opposed to a split fin. I’m not sure of what fin, so any feedback would be appreciated.

I also want to add some mini gauges (probably Scubapro) as a back-up to the computer and just clip them off to my BC.

As for a wet suit, I’ll probably get a 3mil Henderson and a 7mil. Too.

Any and all feedback on my choices will be greatly appreciated. I know that this package will be a bit pricey, but I do not want to end up being limited by my gear (or be let down either), and how much money would I save if I have to go out and replace something in a year or two if it breaks or I out grow it?