I got a new job

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Diver0001

New
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
You know.... sometimes you have to just throw yourself back into the deep end.

I've worked since the first day of my professional career in projects. Early on that was in the role of programmer or analyst. I was trained at the university to be technical. The university where I studied in the early-mid 80's trained people to take jobs at companies like Microsoft and Intel. I learned pretty much everything there was to know (at the time) about programming, hardware and networking. As one of my term assignments in 1987 (before they were widely available on the market), I designed from scratch, built (wire by wire, chip by chip) and tested, a home-made dive computer.

At this particular university it was normal to "go where no one has gone before". Our AI instructor, Our algorithms instructor, even our mathematics instructors and our pure CS instructors were all world leaders at that point in time. In short I went to one of the top universities for computer science on the planet (at the time). I even programmed, for an assignment, a fully functioning chess computer in 48 hours. In our last year our hardware course consisted of the following: The professor walked into the class on day-1 and wrote down a number of op-codes on the wall.... he said, "you have 13 weeks to build a computer, chip by chip to run these op codes. Every Monday I will be here for as long as you need to answer any questions.