Housing/Camera for deep photography. Need help

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

GF99/99

Contributor
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am brand new to underwater photography but not new to photography. I have been shooting wildlife photography for about 6 years now currently shoot 1dx mark 2's one with a 600 mark 2 and another that I alternate between a 70-200 mark 2 and 200-400. I am super familiar with canon and there big lenses but thats about it, I do own an older first generation 24-70L 2.8 but just use that for misc photos and not very often. UW is a whole new world to me, obviously I am partial to the Canon platform however the bodies and lens I have are pretty much useless so I am very open to starting from scratch, and am very open to switching to mirrorless.

I am looking for a setup that is somewhat light and easy to travel with but the real catch is what options are out there for depths below 100 meters. I have fallen in love with sub 100 meter diving and my passion for photography is catching up with my diving passion so I would love to combine the both of them. But I just wanted to see if there are others shooting below 100 meters and what setups they are using? Also open to strobe suggestions as well.