Hi from Oregon

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Vandal14

New
Reaction score
# of dives
None - Not Certified
I joined to learn a little bit about SCUBA Diving. I have wanted to get my diving certificate since I started college, but couldn't fit the class into my schedule.

Now my wife and I will be going on a vacation to Hawaii this summer. I am wondering if we should get our certification before or do a discover dive.

Hi Vandal14 and welcome to SB. I'm still fairly new to diving myself and have only as of yet been diving while on vacations in Florida. I live in the northern part of Maine with the closest dive shop being about 4 hours south of me. I had been wanting to dive for years and finally decided to go for it in March of 2015 and haven't regretted it since.
Personally, in my opinion, I would try to get certified in advance before the vacation. Reason being that depending on how far you want to go with diving, there is so much to learn and practice before becoming proficient with any aspect of diving and feeling really comfortable with it. Every little bit of experience and knowledge you have about the sport before hand will only make your Hawaiian dive experiences that much more enjoyable.
Best wishes to you both and have a great time!
Roger