Help me plan a dive-focused itinerary in Eastern Australia in November

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

moorish8idol

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hello divers,

I am expecting to be in Sydney for work for a few weeks in early November 2024. This is my first time to this part of Australia (I previously did a 3-week trip diving and traveling around Western AUS) and I don't want to miss out on some of the highlights! I may have limited time, 1-2 weeks (ideally if I can get the highlights in 10 days, that would be best) but am not particularly budget-limited and plan to take internal flights to reduce time traveling to different locations.

A bit about me - solo female in my 40s, rescue-certified, have dived all over the world in various conditions, done 10 different liveaboards, and while I appreciate fish and coral diversity and beautiful colours, big animal diving is what keeps me getting back into the water (sharks, rays and the like!). Happy for your tips and recommendations on where I should make sure I dive, who to dive with and what locations I should prioritize over others based on what I am looking for and the season I am diving in.

Loose itinerary: fly to Byron Bay, few days, transfer to Brisbane Airport for onward flight to PPP near Airlie Beach or Hamilton Island airport in the Whitsundays for a few more days and then onward flight from PPP up to Cairns for final days.