Hard to fit mask

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Murphy in NC

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
So I have been diving for eight years and haven't fell in love with a mask yet.
Every mask seems to leak around the bottom of the nose area.

I cannot find a really good fit, I recently heard that the smaller the mask the better the fit.
My face is not wide but the leaking doesn't seem to be on the sides.

Is there anyone who has had troubles with masks

Just a question...where do you wear your mask strap? I used to have a problem with my mask leaking. I as wearing the strap above my ears. One day, I pulled it down until it was across my ears. It didn't leak a bit. I started wearing it like that and I no longer have a leak problem.

This is just a suggestion for something to try and may not work for you.

I had the same issues with leaks happening right below my nose. The two that work for me are the Gull Mantis and the TUSA Ceos. I have several others that were tolerable for snorkeling but a real pain for scuba. All of them passed the mask fit suction test in the store, so it was hard to know until underwater.

P.S. There is a third that also works but a bit old fashioned. A oval single pane OG mask also seals well for my face.

So I have been diving for eight years and haven't fell in love with a mask yet.
Every mask seems to leak around the bottom of the nose area.

I cannot find a really good fit, I recently heard that the smaller the mask the better the fit.