Hands free BCD strap mount

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

FishDiver

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
I am a casual photographer looking for an unobtrusive way to carry a GoPro while diving. I have been holding the camera in my hands and I don't like it. A head mount was my first choce, this works very well when I video motorcycle rides. Most divers seem to feel that this doesn't work well for diving video.

I am considering buying a mount designed for hats oan backpack straps. Any one tried this or have any insights?

Amazon.com: 360' Rotary Backpack Hat Rec-Mounts Clip Fast Clamp Mount for GoPro Hero 2 3 3+: Camera & Photo

I don't think a BCD mount would be much better. The head mount would work well if you act like you are recording. Actually, that would apply to any way you hold the camera to record video. :) As it takes time to recognize what you are showing, you have to move a LOT slower and keep the camera recording the same thing for at least 6 seconds so people can tell what you are looking at. Not doing that would resulting in jerking all around and not being able to focus on what you are looking at, and that same problem will affect your video no matter which mount you use. We can easily discern something in a second or two when we can see the whole scene but it takes a few seconds at least to resolve what you are looking at through the camera and then more time to actually look in detail at the object. Unless you give that time, any video isn't going to be good for viewing.