Greetings

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello ! I’m fairly new to diving and new to this site ! I’ll be going to Roatan in September ! I’m treating myself for my birthday ! Any recommend dive spots? Dive Centers ? I became certified while living in Maui and my friend is a dive master. We would rent equipment and go- mostly shore dives- also did a couple boat dives. I’m bringing a sister who only snorkels. Looking for information about best way to set myself up for diving and possibly a buddy ? Thanks

howdy and welcome from southeast florida ...good luck with your trip.

Welcome to ScubaBoard. You've come to a great forum where you can spend time during your surface intervals.

Hi and welcome.

The answer will depend on where you want to stay.

Many shops in Roatan will offer free equipment rentals with their dive fee. Also, you can't really shore dive on Roatan without a DM.

Also, you can't really shore dive on Roatan without a DM.

I dove mainly West End and while the reef is pretty close to shore, there is also a ton of boat traffic, especially water taxis who are not always on the lookout for divers/snorkeled/swimmers. Boat diving on Roatan is pretty convenient and inexpensive anyway.

If you are going with a non-diving sister, you may want to consider staying in West Bay. It has a big white sand crescent beach that has good snorkeling and more non-diving activities than West End or the dive focused resorts.