Got my Master Diver

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Yes, but not for the "I need to do this to live" reason. I'm the kind of person that if i don't have a routine and tasks day to day, I don't stay focused and can go stir crazy (barely made it through 10 days quarantined with COVID early this year). Ideally, I would love to DM at a resort, just as my "retirement". I'm a european automotive technician, and I'm fully aware that I won't be able to do this for my whole life (it's hard on the body). That's part of my reasoning for getting into sidemount now, as I know later in life, standing/walking with twins on my back isn't going to be an option. I'm at a point in my life now where it isn't an issue, but I'm being honest with myself that it won't always be.
I have a friend that’s in the trades and decided to go SM rather than BM doubles due to the many back issues his older coworkers have. SM is lovely for no weight on your back/knees. I dive it myself due to bad knees/sciatica.

The problem is that working as an instructor/divemaster was VERY enjoyable.
In a certain sense, it is much better to guide a dive than being guided.
And teaching to new divers the first tricks is truly rewarding. In an holiday resort, a diving instructor is close to be a god, and you get a lot of reinforcement and social success.