GoPro 7 Black Or a case for my Canon G9x II?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Lriemann

Registered
Reaction score
Hi there.

I'm a beginner photographer who would like to shoot some diving videos.

I recently bought a Canon G9x II- a tiny but pretty sweet little camera.

I also wish to dabble in a little video, especially for my trip to Comodo and, hopefully, Sipadan.

The natural choice for video seems to be a GoPro, with the Hero 7 Black offering a very good price to quality ratio.
But would my G9x, in a simple underwater case like Ikelite, be able to shoot videos that are just as/almost as good?

From what I understand, the pros of each device are:

GoPro:
Simplicity- easy to use underwater
Toughness
Fewer things can go wrong
Better video (?)
Slightly smaller underwater

Camera:
Will be able to shoot stills
A case is cheaper than a GoPro plus batteries and accessories
Will save room and weight in my (minimalist) bag, as I plan to take it in any case (no pun intended)

I will be happy for any input on this matter.

Cheers

Hello Lriemann,

I recommend to go with the GoPro solution :)

Over the past years I did use my GoPro 3 Black and was very happy with the outcomes. Same as you, I already had a little but powerful Sony RX100 as part of my camera equipment and decided to add the dive housing. In addition, I added a wide angle wet lense and a cheap LED light. Although I went the cheap way, total amount was more on level with a GoPro + dive housing + batteries etc.