Good camera for a beginner and other suggestions wanted!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

VaScubaGirl

Reaction score
I've been diving for two years and now feel I'm at point I can start taking up underwater photography. I've tried the little disposable camers...they were terrible! Not that they cracked or anything, there just wasn't enough light to capture anything decent. That being said, I would like to know what is a good basic camera (that won't break my budget) to start with, if you must get additional light sources (strobes etc) and what the ballpark price range I can expect. Also, I see all kinds of underwater cameras being sold on ebay. What are y'all's opinions on those? Thanks!

the majority of people use the Olympus c4040, c5050, but the C4000 is a 4megapixel camera that has everything the 4040 does, except the monster zoom ( I think). The c4000 can be had for $400 or less brand new at most stores like circuit city or best buy. A housing for it can be had for $250.

A few people, myself included, have the Nikon Coolpix 4300. It's a 4MP camera that is virtually identical to the Olympus 4000, but a little smaller. A housing for it runs about $180 and comes with 1 year of flood insurance.

There are 2 good starters for under $650. Good luck.

another good set up to start with would be the canon powershot A series and the housings that they have for them.