Gearing up HELP!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

EDUNER

Registered
Reaction score
Ok, I know you all are sick of hearing these questions but, thats what a forum is for. I am a beginner diver, actually certifing tomorrow, and I need some equipment advise. I plan to be a rec diver only, diving only a few times per year in troptical water and some local lakes (AZ, not to cold here!). Anyway, I been reading this forum the last couple of days and have found that ScubaPro, AquaLung, Zeagle and a couple of other brands seem to be quite popular. Unfortunalty, most of these are a bit out of me price range. I was wondering what you thought of Aeris? Today a saw a package deal at the LDS that included:

ATMOS SPORT BC
ATMOS SPORT primary
A1 Octo
ATMOS 1 comp

all for $799. Does this sound like a good deal and it Aeris a quality/reliable product for a rec diver? If not, what would you recomend in a similar price range? Thanks so much for the help!

I don't think you should buy any gear right now. You are getting certified tomorrow and only plan to dive a few times a year. Why not wait to buy gear and in the mean time just rent different BC's and regs and see what you will be happy with. You don't want to end up with gear you will hate and wil lput up on ebay a year after you buy it. There is no rush to buying gear, especially in your case. Take it slow and see what is out there and how it works best for you.