Freediving breath-holding

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Mitchell Hamm

Contributor
Reaction score
In the middle of the biggest neighborhood ever
# of dives
0 - 24
Hey, I am new to the "non-mechanized" view of the underwater world. I am 16 and an avid Scuba Diver. I am looking to begin freediving to somewhat supplement my dreams for college. I am wanting to go into the Coast Guard Academy for college and come out as a Rescue Swimmer/Diver. As one of these rescue swimmers (equivalent of Navy Seals of the Navy, and the most elite of the coast guard, a 1/126 ratio of swimmers to normal coasties). Is there any specific classes I need to take to increase my breath time? Any advise in going about this? I don't want to be one of the cadets that passes out during the exam.
Thanks
Mitch

there are freediving courses that help you improve your breath-hold time and your technique.
also, as a good training method, you can breathe through a straw (trains the lungs).
i did this and in just a few days my time went up to about 1.5-2 minutes more :)
well i hope i managed to be of help to you :)

Thanks! Ill try the straw. I will look for apnea courses around me, thanks again.

As one of these rescue swimmers (equivalent of Navy Seals of the Navy, and the most elite of the coast guard, a 1/126 ratio of swimmers to normal coasties).

I'm pretty sure that SEAL would take a lot of offense to this for a lot of reasons.

Aside from that, chat with Erin from Performance Freediving. She is on this forum somewhere.