Flying after diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

k954triniz

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I know flying after diving is a big no no. But when people think of flying they think of a commercial jetliner that goes up to 32,000 ft and higher. I am a small private airplane mechanic like the little cessnas and pipers. Today I had to refuse to go Bahamas to change a part on one of the planes I work on. I would have been flying for about an hour and wouldn’t go above 10,000ft due to the aircraft not being pressurized. I ended my dive in which I dove to 110ft at 11am yesterday and would have been in the air around 8am today. Can anyone advise me on if that would have been an issue. Also if even going to 10,000ft would even be an issue right after the dive.

It's not an exact science, it's better safe than sorry.

You would have most likely been fine considerring it's been almost 24 hours but people have gotten DCS for driving up a mountain In a car. Can't really know.

Views differ in this area a lot. For rec dive profiles PADI recommends a 12-hour no-fly window for a single dive day, or 18 hours if you did multiple dives, and either way ideally shooting for 24 hours. DAN recommends a minimum of 12 hours for single dive, 18 hours for multiple dives a day and/or multiple dive days in a row. US Air Force 24 hours, US Navy just 2 hours