First strobe for an Olympus E-PM1, any suggestions?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

aishunbao

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi everyone! This is my first time posting here and I'm hoping to get some advice.

I bought the Olympus PEN E-PM1 with housing bundle for about $500 when it was on sale a couple of months ago. After using it a little bit, it became clear that I need a decent strobe for this thing.

Now, I live on a small remote sub-tropical island in Japan where I can dive relatively cheaply and regularly. I know scuba diving is an expensive hobby, but I'm just trying to get the most out of my time (and the most bang for my buck) while living on this island... so I'm a little price-sensitive.

Since I live in Japan, I've found that I can get Sea&Sea strobes for much cheaper on Japanese websites than the listed price on overseas websites so it would appear that it is the most cost-efficient choice. I can get the YS-01 for about $305 or the YS-D1 for about $492. Are there any other comparable strobes that I should be aware about that I could get for a similar price (or even cheaper)?