Exposure Suit for Wide Range of Temperatures?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

xyrandomyx

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I'm new to diving. I've finally decided to get my own exposure suit. It seems like there are a lot of options on the market, so I'm a bit bewildered by all the choice.

If at all possible, I'd like to buy only one exposure suit. But, in the area where I'll do most of my diving, there's quite a wide range of water temperatures (well, it seems wide to me): from about 7--18 degrees Celsius (~45--65 degrees Fahrenheit). It can get a little colder or warmer on freak days, but that's the typical range.

Up until now, I've only used rental one-piece, 7mm wetsuits with attached hoods. None have fitted very well (which makes me think a custom suit might be a good idea). I start getting uncomfortably cold after about 30 minutes in 10 degrees Celsius (50 degrees Fahrenheit). I'd like to dive for a bit longer than that, but wouldn't be too unhappy if I had to live with shorter dives in colder water. I don't see myself wanting to dive for much more than an hour.

Any suggestions for an exposure suit that would be comfortable right across that range of temperatures? Or am I going to have to bite the bullet and get more than one for different conditions?

Any suggestions for an exposure suit that would be comfortable right across that range of temperatures? Or am I going to have to bite the bullet and get more than one for different conditions?