Exhaling small bubble(s) through nose

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Poomezy

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hey everyone!

I’m new to scuba and noticed my mask was leaking quite often. A friend suggested that I may be exhaling through my nose a bit. To test this out I took a pale filled with water and with no mask I began breathing through my snorkel. For the most part I just exhale through my mouth but occasionally a small bubble or two would exit from the left nostril. It also would happen if I wiggled my nose around, regardless of if I was breathing or not but would come out both sides. It doesn’t happen every time but it’s almost like I can feel it building up until it finally happens again. Is this normal?

Hey everyone!

I’m new to scuba and noticed my mask was leaking quite often. A friend suggested that I may be exhaling through my nose a bit. To test this out I took a pale filled with water and with no mask I began breathing through my snorkel. For the most part I just exhale through my mouth but occasionally a small bubble or two would exit from the left nostril. It also would happen if I wiggled my nose around, regardless of if I was breathing or not but would come out both sides. It doesn’t happen every time but it’s almost like I can feel it building up until it finally happens again. Is this normal?