Equipment purchases - comments on BCD please

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

c_m_wood

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all. Ive been diving for around 3 years and have recently decided to purchase my own gear as I intend to take it up far more regularly. All of my diving thus far has been abroad but I'm joining a club here (UK) so the gear preferably needs to b light weight and able to cope with warm and colder waters.

So far I have bought:
Mares V16 proton metal (DIN)
Mares proton octopus
Old model but new datamax pro air integrated computer
Suunto SK7 wrist compass
Mares volo fins

I shopped around and bought all of these brand new for way under half their retail value.

There aren't a huge number of dive shops around here but I have managed to try on a few BCDs of which I preferred the Buddy commando (i think), Posieden techlift and Mares Vector Chrome.

The buddy is a bit to expensive for my budget and I didnt really like the weight and lack of pockets on the techlift so am left with the mares vector chrome which I have found for 191 GBP + £20 for the MRS weight system.