Drysuit Size question.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ljpm

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi,

I have a chance to purchase a gently used drysuit for a fabulous price. The problem is I have very little knowledge on how a Drysuit should fit. The first problem is the suit is a custom suit so I can't even look up the dimensions. Second, it is a consignment sale so I can't ask the owner what the dimensions are. And third, with the person selling it caveat emptor applies. Height wise the suit fits well. My biggest concern is that it looks like I could put both my thighs in one leg. It also looks as if the waist is large enough for 2 of me. The 'salesman' tried to convince me that I need that much room for thermal gear. Looking for opinions. Additionally, the price is really good so would I be able to make do with it for a few years until I could purchase a custom?

Thanks.

A bargain that fits poorly isn’t really a bargain, it’s money lost toward something that fits.

You should try it on with the thickest undergarments you intend to wear.

My recommendation is to pass on this suit and shop. Fit is the most important thing in a drysuit and is not something easily conveyed in writing. I am imagining the suit is being sold on consignment by a dive shop...if that is truly the case then the shop should have had you try the suit on with an undersuit to ensure the drysuit is correctly sized for you. The fact that they did not should be a concern.

Three primary things to keep in mind about drysuits:
1. Fit